When you move a message from one folder to another in your email client, or delete a message, the process is more complicated that it would initially seem. A copy of the message is placed in the appropriate destination folder, but the original message is not removed immediately. Instead it is flagged as “unpurged”, and hidden from display, until such a time that the folder that contains it is compacted or expunged.
The reason for this behavior is to optimize the move/delete process by not having to reorganize a mailbox every time a message is removed from it. As mailboxes can become very large, and messages can usually be moved around without limitation, this can provide a considerable time-saving. However it also means that when you process a mailbox with Aid4Mail, the mailbox can potentially contain unpurged messages.
As these messages are generally unwanted, they are automatically skipped by the Home and Professional versions of Aid4Mail. The eDiscovery versions offer an option to process unpurged mail, which is usually only required in a forensics context.
If you experience any issues, please don't hesitate to contact us by raising a ticket.
If you would like to buy an Aid4Mail license, visit the Aid4Mail website.